Become a member

Scholarship Recipients

2018: Lauren L. Prince, Universiy of Wisconsin
Colette E. Friedenson, University of Pennsylvania

2017: Kimberly McMunn, Purdue University

2015: Dahlia Grimes, Matthews University

2014: Jordan Dieckman, University of Wisconsin School of Veterinary Medicine
Gabby Eddings, Washington State University College of Veterinary Medicine

2013: Chelsea E. Anderson, Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine

2012: Kelly Patyk, Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
Joelle Glenn, University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine

2011: Shequenta Wray, North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine

AAFSPHV Student Scholarship

Scholarship information and Requirements

To be eligible to apply for the AAFSPHV scholarship, applicants must be, at the time of the application:

  • A current AAFSPHV student member, and
  • A 1st, 2nd, 3rd, or 4th year veterinary student (students graduating in May are eligible).

At the AVMA Convention, the scholarship recipient will be required to:

  1. Attend the AAFSPHV annual membership meeting.

After the AVMA Convention, the scholarship recipient will be required to:

  1. Provide proof of attendance to 8 C.E. units in any combination of the following subsection categories under the Public and Corporate Practice Session: Animal Welfare, Comparative Medicine, Current Issues/Advances, Disaster Preparedness, Global Health Summit, Environmental Health Issues, Food Safety, One Health, or Preventive Medicine.
  2. Describe his/her experience at the Convention as it relates to Public Health via a short written report (to be posted to the AAFSPHV website) and potentially via conference call with the AAFSPHV Board of Directors (BoD) and/or the Outreach Workgroup.

The Student Scholarship Selection Committee comprises members of the AAFSPHV BoD, or alternative AAFSPHV members as appointed by the BoD. Committee members will objectively score student responses to screening questions. In the event of a tie, the Selection Committee will select select the scholarship recipient(s) based on a review of the leading applications. Each year, depending on AAFSPHV resources, the BoD will determine the number of scholarships to be awarded.

Jordan Dieckman, 2014 scholar

Gabby Eddings, 2014 scholar

About the Scholarship

The American Association of Food Service and Public Health Veterinarians (AAFSPHV) Scholarship is given to a student member of the AAFSPHV to help defray the cost of attending the AVMA Annual Convention.